Etymology

My mum won a prize at school for spelling the longest word in the English language (this ‘title’ is open to debate). The word was

 floccinaucinihilipilification

and means –  the estimation of something as worthless – 29 letters

Obviously it wasn’t worthless – she got a book for knowing how to spell it! She was a scholarship girl at the grammar school, I’m very proud of her for that amongst many other things. She won other prizes at school, they were all books. I still have some of them, complete with their owner’s plate (there’s probably a better word for this rectangle of paper stuck in the front of a book), and these not only say the book belongs to her but also that she won it and what year she won it in). I suspect although, sadly, I can no longer ask her (or more accurately I could ask her but she can’t answer now, she had dementia) that she valued these books very highly. In the house I grew up in books were precious things that you had to take care of and treat with respect. I still wince when I see the condition of books around my classroom. On the one hand I am pleased they are read. I am very please that one child in particular seems to hoover books up and has a veracious appetite for them. That is a wonderful thing. But the condition of the book makes me shudder. I can often be heard saying ‘use a bookmark, don’t bend the spine’ and other similar phrases. All to no avail 😦 But I digress…

A collegue and I were having a conversation about words at work on Friday. She can remember lots of wonderful words. My poor memory is a real pain sometimes. She taught me at least 3 new words! Fabulous! I can’t remember a single one now 😦 Nevertehelss I shall persevere (I love ‘nevertheless’ – I just don’t get to use it often enough!). On Monday I shall ask her, pen and paper in hand, what they were so I can write them down. And write then down again and again in an attempt to memorise them.

 

All of which leads me nicely to two things :

  • rote learning, I’m in two minds on this as I don’t agree with trying to just cram information into young minds without them understanding what they’re learning, but I do recognise the value of, for instance, being able to recall times tables, and,
  • books on etymology. I’ve just finished this one. I prefer to listen to audio books but the best way for me to remember content is to read and listen at the same time, so I really like the Kindle facility to have a narrator. 

Finally, my word for the day is…

Lethologica

the inability to recall the precise word for something

 

 

 

 

 

Published by jammyknits

Teacher, knitter, spinner, sometimes dyer, crocheter, beginner weaver, Jack of all trades!

Leave a comment

Special Needs Jungle

News, info, resources & informed opinion about Special Educational Needs, disability, children’s physical and mental health, rare disease. Campaigning to #FixSEND

Barry Carpenter Education

International Educational Consultant

EDTECH 4 BEGINNERS

New to educational technology? I can help.

KDD & Co

Award-winning Scottish publishing and design

allstitchedup

teaching, knitting and teaching knitting!